Record Setting MFHS Nationals FFA Team
MFISD FFA team traveled to Indianapolis for the National Competition
This is the image for the news article titled MFISD FFA team traveled to Indianapolis for the National Competition

During the long history of Marble Falls’ participation in the Future Farmers of America (FFA), Texas has only produced three FFA teams that broke the National Top Ten in the Nursery Landscape Division.  During the National competition in Indianapolis from October 18th - 22nd, the Marble Falls FFA Nursery Landscape Team joined that illustrious company with a 9th place team victory.  Elizabeth Lane also earned a 9th place individual award.

In addition to the team’s National Top Ten finish, Holly Atkinson, Avery Marshall and Elizabeth Lane earned 1st Ratings and Gold Medals, the top honors awarded to individuals during the competition.

The team competed in skill events like installing pavers, plant layout, line trimmer, mid-sized mower, and tree planting.  They also demonstrated knowledge in exam, practicum, identification, and verbal and written customer service.

“Texas is one of the toughest States to make it to the National Competition,” said FFA sponsor, Dawn Stratton.  “While many teams from other States at the National competition only had to beat 8 – 14 teams, to win the State Championship, we had to compete against more teams in Texas (47) then we did at the National level (42)! 

MFISD FFA Sponsors
FFA Sponsors cheering from home: Leonard Venghaus, Mike Rempe and Shawn Reed

The National Team from Marble Falls is quick to acknowledge the tremendous community support that made their top National finish possible. Special thanks go out to Ewald Kubota for providing access to machinery used to prepare for competition, the Career and Technology Education (CTE) Advisory members, MFHS FFA sponsors, and the MFISD Board and Community for providing the CTE bond so students in Marble Falls learn with facilities and equipment that prepare them to compete at the highest levels.

Learners Today, Leaders Tomorrow, Mustangs Forever!


Contact:    Bruce Peckover
                   Director of Communications